PhD Studentship: The Iron Age to Roman Transition in Britain from the Perspective of Coin Hoards

Applications are invited for an AHRC-funded Ph.D. studentship based at the University of Leicester and the Ashmolean Museum at the University of Oxford.

Entitled “The Iron Age to Roman Transition in Britain from the Perspective of Coin Hoards”, this project will explore the later Iron Age in Britain as a period of social change, as clearly evidenced in alterations in technologies and material culture. This is also the period in which the first coins appear, imported from Gallic neighbours across the Channel, and later minted locally across southern Britain; such material provides a major source of information on Iron Age society, trade, religious beliefs, and continental contacts. Many aspects of Iron Age coinage are still poorly understood, but they combine aspects of ‘money’ since they have standardized weight and metal composition; they exhibit complex and localized iconography; and they are generally deposited in careful ways, probably as part of a broad ‘sacrificial’ economy. This PhD studentship will take as its focus this last aspect, examining and interpreting hoards deposited in a time of major cultural change, namely the late Iron Age to Roman transition in Britain.

Iron Age coin

A coin from the Iron Age coin collection, Heberden Coin Room, Ashmolean Museum

The successful candidate will hold their studentship at the School of Archaeology and Ancient History at Leicester, one of the UK’s leading archaeology departments and a major centre for research in Iron Age and Roman archaeology; he/she will work in partnership with the Heberden Coin Room, Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, whose holdings include part of the collection of British Iron Age coins belonging to Sir John Evans, the founding figure of the subject and author of The Coins of the Ancient Britons, (1864) and bequeathed to the Museum by Sir Arthur Evans.

This project will be supervised by Professors Colin Haselgrove and David Mattingly (Leicester) and Professors Chris Howgego and Chris Gosden (Oxford).

Subject to standard AHRC eligibility criteria, the studentship will cover tuition fees at home/EU rate and provide a maintenance award at RCUK rates for a maximum of 3 years of full-time doctoral study from 1stOctober 2019 with the option of up to 6 months additional funding for related professional development.


For full details of the studentship and how to apply please read the Applicant Information Pack.

Applications must be received no later than 5pm on 8 April 2019.

For informal enquiries relating to studentship, please contact Professor Colin Haselgrove ( or Professor Chris Howgego (

Mobile Navigation